Preview: Bangladesh look to take ODI success to the T20Is

After a successful ODI series where they earned their first away series win since 2009, Bangladesh will be looking to replicate the success in the T20Is which is all set to kick off on 1st August.

While on the other hand, West Indies will be looking to forget the disappointment of the series loss and fightback hard in the format which they are best at. Even without Chris Gayle and Sunil Narine, in the shortest format, Windies are a force to reckon with.

Also Read - New Zealand reject PCB's invitation to tour Pakistan

Despite several senior players being off the radar or unavailable, there is ample experience in the squad with the presence of Andre Russell and Samuel Badree. The selectors have recalled the in-form duo of Sheldon Cottrell and Chadwick Walton.

For Bangladesh, Mashrafe Mortaza goes out and Soumya Sarkar comes in, as the format changes. But barring that, there is only one other swap. Majority of the players have been around in the Caribbean islands ever since late June, having played the tour games, Tests and the ODIs.

Tamim Iqbal’s form will be the key to success for the Tigers. But while their batsmen have stood up and done well, their bowlers have failed to make a mark. Even Mehidy Hasan and Mustafizur Rahman – two key bowlers – haven’t quite been threatening.

And unlike most other bilateral series, where T20Is becomes only a complimentary package of the tour, for Bangladesh and Windies it is an opportunity to bag the bragging rights.

Probable XI’s:

Windies: Carlos Brathwaite (c), Samuel Badree, Sheldon Cottrell, Andre Fletcher, Evin Lewis, Ashley Nurse, Chadwick Walton (wk), Rovman Powell, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels,  Keemo Paul.

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Sabbir Rahman, Shakib Al Hasan (c), Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mahmudullah, Ariful Haque, Mehidy Hasan, Nazmul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.
Tweet 20

Related Articles

Bangladesh announce squad for Zimbabwe Test with surprise inclusions

Bangladesh announce squad for Rawalpindi Test

Mominul to remain Bangladesh Test captain

Bankers Championship Trophy in Bangladesh makes grand inauguration

I could visit Pakistan after two or three years: Mushfiqur