Preview: T20I series a chance for Bangladesh to salvage tour

The focus shifts to three-match T20I series after New Zealand had completed yet another 3-0 whitewash over Bangladesh in the ODIs.

Preview: T20I series a chance for Bangladesh to salvage tour
Bangladesh were whitewashed 0-3 in the ODIs. Photo: Getty Images


Hamilton’s Seddon Park will host the first of the three T20Is at 2:00 pm local time (7:00 am Bangladesh Standard Time).

Also Read - Bairstow hits out at Gavaskar

Bangladesh have not played a T20I match since the pandemic while on the contrary, New Zealand have played 11 of them this summer. The most recent performance saw a full-strength New Zealand winning 3-2 over Australia.

New Zealand now have uncapped Finn Allen and Will Young in the team, which will be captained by Tim Southee. Kane Williamson and Trent Boult are among six rested for the series who will fly for IPL 2021.

However, the hosts have three in-form players in this format: Martin Guptill, Devon Conway and Ish Sodhi, who performed in the Australia series. Guptill had a lean ODI series whereas Conway slammed a maiden international hundred in the third ODI.

Bangladesh have not managed to win a T20I over New Zealand in previous seven meetings. They lost 0-3 when they toured here in 2016-17.

With the absences of Shakib Al Hasan and Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudullah Riyad-led young Bangladesh side will look to play fearless cricket to salvage the ODI defeat.

“If we play fearless cricket in T20s, we can bring results our way. I believe we have intense hunger for a win. InShaAllah we will play our best cricket tomorrow,” Mahmudullah said.

Bangladesh might look to open the innings with Liton Das and Soumya Sarkar, the duo which was prolific in the Bangabandhu T20 Cup held last year. Mahedi Hasan could be given a go with fellow spinning all-rounder Mehidy Hasan Miraz.

Allen, who scored over 500 runs in the Super Smash T20, is in line to open the innings with Guptill. Conway will keep the wickets.

Likely XIs:

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Finn Allen, Devon Conway (wk), Glenn Phillips, Mark Chapman, Will Young, Daryl Mitchell, Todd Astle, Tim Southee (captain), Ish Sodhi, Lockie Ferguson.

Bangladesh: Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Naim Sheikh, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mahmudullah Riyad (captain), Afif Hossain, Mahedi Hasan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Rubel Hossain.

Related Articles

Cricket in Bangladesh halted amid lockdown

Shakib, Mustafizur don’t have 10-12 hands: Mominul

Akram Khan tests positive for Covid-19

Considering Shuvagata as a batting all-rounder: Nannu

Uncapped pace trio in Bangladesh preliminary Test squad