Punjab win by a big mirgin against Mumbai to pick up their second win

Kings XI Punjab beat Mumbai Indians by a big mirgin of 8 wickets in the ninth match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2019 at Chandigarh. Kings XI Punjab registered their second win from three matches while Mumbai Indians lost two in three.

K.L Rahul of KXIP plays a shot during match 9 of the Vivo Indian Premier League Season 12, 2019 between the Kings XI Punjab and the Mumbai Indians

Losing the toss, Mumbai Indians came to bat. Rohit Sharma and Quinton de Kock made another 50 plus runs partnership before Rohit getting out by Hardus Viljeon in the sixth over of the match with the score of 32 runs from 18 balls.

Also Read - Pakistan fined for slow over rate in fourth ODI against Australia

After that, Suryakumar Yadav also got out by scoring just 11 runs. But de Kock continued his good batting and picked up the half century. But he didn’t able to make his innings big, Mohammad Shami took his wicket in the 13th over. De Kock scored 60 runs from 39 balls with 6 fours and 2 sixes.

Then their middle orders again failed in the important moment of the match. At the last, again Hardik Pandya played a superb innings of 31 runs from 19 runs to set the challenging target of 177 runs. Mohammed Shami, Hardus Viljoen and Andrew Tye all took two wickets each but leaked runs, while Murugan Ashwin impressed with figures of 2/25 from his four overs.

Chasing the target of 177 runs, Chris Gayle showed his form again and started to dominate. He slammed back to back sixes in the 3rd over of the match and became the first man in the history of IPL to hit 300 sixes. Gayle scored 40 runs from 24 balls with 3 fours and 4 sixes before he lost his wicket against Krunal Pandya.

Then Mayank Agarwal and Lokesh Rahul made a partnership of 64 runs. Krunal Pandya again broke the partnership by picking the wickets of Agarwal who scored 43 runs from 21 balls. After that, it was an easy chase for Punjab as Lokesh Rahul and David Miller grabbed the win for the home side by 8 wickets. Lokesh Rahul was unbeaten on 71 runs from 57 balls with 6 fours and 1 six. Krunal Pandya took both the wickets by giving away 43 runs in 4 overs.


Brief Score:

Mumbai Indians 176-7

Quinton de Kock 60(39), Rohit Sharma 32(18)

Murugan Ashwin 2/25, Hardus Viljoen 2/42


Kings XI Punjab 177-2 (18.4 overs)

Lokesh Rahul 71*(57), Mayank Agarwal 43(21)

Krunal Pandya 2/43


Toss: Kings XI Punjab, elected to bowl first

Man of the match: Lokesh Rahul

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Andrew Tye ruled out for up to four months due to elbow injury

Australia call up Sean Abbott after five years

Tye ruled out of SL T20Is, Finch fit to play

“Powerplay has been one of our huge issues”- Punjab skipper Ashwin

Andre Russell’s demolition gives KKR another win in IPL 2019