Raina makes shock comeback in India’s T20I squad

Suresh Raina makes his much-awaited comeback into the side as the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) have announced the 16-man squad for the upcoming three-match T20I series against South Africa, starting February 18.

Raina last played for India in February 2017 against England. After all the struggles, the left hand batsman has finally made into the national team once again and thanks to his good form in the recently-concluded Syed Mustaq Ali T20 tournament, where he also scored a 49-ball century.

Meanwhile, Ajinkya Rahane has once again been overlooked for the T20I series. Jaydev Unadkat gets a ticket to South Africa as well after performing admirably against Sri Lanka. Unadakat was also awarded the man of the series for his fine show against the Islander.

Also Read - Stokes again prices go above Rs 10 crore

Even in the IPL auction, Unadkat was sold for big bucks as he was sold for Rs 11.5 Cr to Rajasthan Royals because of his excellent show in T20s recently.

The Men in Blue are scheduled to play three T20Is against the Proteas – Feb 18 in Johannesburg, Feb 21 in Centurion and Feb 24 in Cape Town.

T20I squad: Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (wicketkeeper), Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Manish Pandey, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Jaydev Unadkat, Shardul Thakur.

Related Articles

India finish tour with T20I series win

I fancy Chahal a lot: Klaasen

Smith slashes South Africa’s batting approach

Indian team removed South African local caterer

India’s dominance in SA tour continues