Retention list for IPL 2022 revealed

Each team were allowed a maximum of 4 players to be retained

Retention list for IPL 2022 revealed

Saif AL Imam Shota

Posted -

Updated -

The eight franchises of the Indian Premier League (IPL) have disclosed their retention list for the upcoming IPL 2022. Each team were allowed a maximum of 4 players to be retained. Neither Shakib Al Hasan nor Mustafizur Rahman were retained by their respective teams. 
Defending champions Chennai Super Kings have retained their talisman MS Dhoni. Alongside Dhoni, CSK have opted to retain Ravindra Jadeja, Ruturaj Gaikwad, and Moeen Ali. While all of them have been spectacular performers for the side, CSK had to let go the likes of Faf du Plesis, Dwyane Bravo and Suresh Raina. 
Runners up Kolkata Knight Riders retained the Caribbean duo of Andre Russell and Sunil Narine. Alongside these big names, they have also retained mystery spinner Varun Chakravarthy and Venkatesh Iyer. 
Delhi Capitals will be sticking with Rishabh Pant as their captain. Alongside Pant, they have opted to keep hold of Prithvi Shaw, Axar Patel and Anrich Nortje. DC let go off their previous skipper Shreyas Iyer and opener Shikhar Dhawan.
RCB retained Virat Kohli and Glenn Maxwell, who finally had a magnificent season in 2021. Alongside these big batters, they have kept hold off Mohammad Siraj, who has gradually developed into a lethal bowler. 
Mumbai Indians had to make some massive calls as well. While they kept hold off Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Kieron Pollard and Suryakumar Yadav, they had to bid adieu to the likes of Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya and Trent Boult. 
Punjab Kings only two players, Mayank Agarwal and young Arshdeep Singh. Surprisingly, they let go off KL Rahul, who had been their pillar in terms of batting for many seasons. 
Rajasthan Royals retained 3 players; Sanju Samson, Jos Butler and Yashasvi Jaiswal. The Royals let go some big names like Ben Stokes and Jofra Archer. 
Sunrisers Hyderabad arguably surprised the most with their retention list. While they retained captain Kane Williamson, the other two players retained were uncapped Abdul Samad and Umran Malik. SRH let go of some big players, like David Warner, Johnny Bairstow, Rashid Khan and Jason Holder. 
The two new franchises, Lucknow and Ahmedabad, will have until 25th December to select 3 players for their team. The mega auction for the upcoming season will have some exciting names going under the hammer. It remains to be seen what new thrill the auction has to behold.