British-Bangladeshi Robin Das in Bangabandhu T20 draft

Essex batsman Robin James Das, a British-Bangladeshi, has been named in the players’ draft for Bangabandhu T20 Cup 2020. 

British-Bangladeshi Robin Das in Bangabandhu T20 draft

Robin’s father hails from Sunamganj district of Sylhet Division. Robin was born in Leytonstone in February 2002. The right-handed batsman played club cricket for Wanstead and was educated at Brentwood School.

Also Read - I don't run behind my players with stick in hand: Rohit Sharma

Robin came into the headlines when he scored an unbeaten 200 against Kent U-17s for Essex U-17 team in July 2019. He scored three hundreds for Essex U-17s in total, the other two being 117* v Kent U-17s in 2018 and 116 vs Middlesex U-17s in 2019.

2019 was an eventful year for the young lad as he was awarded the Academy Player of the Year for Essex. His services to Essex second XI and Academy team earned him a contract with the senior side. Robin’s elder brother Jonathan James Das also played for Essex second XI.

Robin made his senior cricket debut against Sussex in the T20 Blast this year. He scored 7 off 8 batting lower down the order in his side’s four-wicket loss. The 18-year-old is yet to take part in a first-class match or a List A match.

Robin has been around England’s set up as well. He trained with England U-19s last season. He was named in England Young Lions intra-squad matches this year.

Last year Robin expressed his desire to play international cricket for Bangladesh if possible. The promising teenager also revealed his plans to play cricket in Bangladesh during the winter season when it is off-season for cricket in the UK.

Robin is listed in grade D in the 157-player list for Bangabandhu T20 Cup, that is tentatively scheduled from November 20 to December 14.

Related Articles

Shakib fails again but Khulna beat Barishal by 48 runs

Sujon expects Shakib to return to his old rhythm soon

Shafiul ruled out, Khulna include Khaled

Which team will be Mashrafe’s final destination in T20 Cup?

Changes in T20 Cup timings for Bangladesh football team