Sarfaraz dropped, Pakistan announce squad for Australia tour

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) have announced their 16-man squad for the three-match T20I series and two-match Test series against Australia, starting November 3. Chief Selector Misbah-ul-Haq declared the squad for the forthcoming visit in Australia on Monday.


The most significant change in the side is wicket-keeper batsman Mohammad Rizwan replace former captain Sarfaraz Ahmed. Left-arm pacer Mohammad Irfan had also made his comeback to the national team after three years.

Also Read - Bangladesh players announce boycott all kinds of cricket

Pakistan had added their new pace sensations Musa Khan and Naseem Shah, alongside young Shaheen Shah Afridi to the Test team. The three quicks will join 14-Test veteran Mohammad Abbas and quick bowler Imran Khan Senior, who had been added again into team after a gap of two years.

Musa Khan was also named in the T20I side along with uncapped middle-order batsman Khushdil Shah and wrist spinner Usman Qadir. Uncapped prolific opener Abid Ali and experienced left-arm spinner Kashif Bhatti also included in the Test squad.

Clarifying his decisions, chief selector and head coach Misbah-ul-Haq stated: “We realize that Australia will exhibit unique and exciting difficulties for us. There is a need to play an alternate sort of cricket, the equalization of the squads is intelligent of us having choices to play aggressive, attacking cricket.”

Pacer Hasan Ali was not named in the squad because still he’s been recovering from his back injury.

Pakistan team will fly for the Australia tour on October 26 and the tour will start with the T20I series on November 3.

16-man T20I Squad:

Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper), Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Haris Sohail, Asif Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Wahab Riaz, Muhhamad Amir, Muhammad Irfan, Muhammad Hasnain, Musa Khan, Khushdil Shah, Usman Qadir.

16-man Test squad:

Azhar Ali (captain), Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper), Abid Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Babar Azam, Haris Sohail, Asad Shafiq, Shan Masood, Iftikhar Ahmed, Kashif Bhatti, Imran Khan Snr, Mohammad Abbas, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Yasir Shah, Musa Khan.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

I do not fear Root, Stokes: Naseem Shah

Naseem Shah ‘could win a Test match on his own’, says Misbah-ul-Haq

‘Misbah could’ve hit a straight six’

PCB announces 29-member squad for England tour with surprise inclusion

Amir, Haris withdraw their name from England tour