SL vs AUS: Australian Pacer Kane Richardson gets ruled out from the ODI series sue to injury

Richardson suffered the injury while warming up ahead of Australia's T20I loss to Sri Lanka in Saturday's third game and scans have since revealed the extent of the injury

vision mobile

Hasi Kamanger

Posted -

Updated -

The Australia national cricket team has suffered a major blow when star pacemaker Kane Richardson was injured and ruled out of the entire five-game One Day International (ODI) series against the Sri Lanka national cricket team which begins on 14 June.
The Australia cricket team have suffered another major blow ahead of the five-day One-Day International Series against Sri Lanka which begins June 14, with veteran fast bowler Kane Richardson ruled out of the entire series due to a hamstring injury.
Richardson suffered the injury during warm-up ahead of Australia's T20I loss to Sri Lanka in Saturday's game three and scans have since revealed the extent of the injury.
Although the Tourists, under white-ball skipper Aaron Finch, won the series 2-1, it came at a huge cost as three top players were injured and Richardson has now been included in the list as well.
Meanwhile, things are not looking good for Australia as they faced several injury problems on the Sri Lanka tour.
Star pacer Mitchell Starc sustained an unusual injury during the first T20I against Sri Lanka when he slashed his index finger on a spike on his bowling shoe, requiring six stitches. The all-rounder Mitchell Marsh also maintains a line of calves.
However, Australia captain Aaron Finch has told reporters both players are expected to be available for the third game of the ODI series on Sunday.
Veteran pacemaker Kane Richardson, who was included in Australia's ODI squad for the Sri Lanka series alongside Jhye Richardson as a cover for Mitchell Starc, suffered a "rather serious thigh injury" during Saturday's T20I game against Sri Lanka, he said a spokesman for Cricket Australia continued Monday.
Meanwhile, Pacer Kane Richardson is ready to fly home after being left out of the ODIs for not being included in the Test team and Pacer Scott Boland, who performed exceptionally for Australia in the 2021-22 Ashes, became named as his replacement on the team.
Australia XI: Aaron Finch (c), David Warner, Steve Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Alex Carey, Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Jhye Richardson, Josh Hazlewood.