Smith breaks Sachin and Kohli’s record

Australia top-class cricketer Steve Smith, who served a 12-month ban for his infamous role in the ball-tampering scandal in South Africa last year made a statement in Ashes 2019 series by chipping in with a sensational 24th Test century in 65 matches (9th hundred against England).

Smith breaks Sachin and Kohli's record
Smith raises his bat after scoring his 24th Test century in 65 matches.

While other batsmen fell prey to English bowlers, it was Steve Smith who single-handedly took the attack to cleaners and he ended up scoring 144 on Day 1 with the help of 16 fours and 2 sixes to his credit. Had it not been for Steve Smith, Australia would have faced humiliation at Edgbaston on Thursday.

Australia were struggling to score runs as they were standing at 122/8 against England but Smith overcame all the obstacles and steered the team to 284. His 24th Test century in 118 innings helped him to become the second-fastest batsman to accomplish the feat. It should be noted that only Donald Bradman scored his 24th century in fewer innings (66).

Also Read - Kohli talks about his passion for football and reveals his favourite player

Smith is definitely cut above Virat Kohli and Sachin Tendulkar in terms of 24 Test centuries scored in fewer innings as Kohli and Sachin took 123 and 125 innings to complete the feat.

Smith is now equal with Greg Chappell, Viv Richards and Mohammad Yousuf on 24 Test centuries. Only six Australia batsmen have more Test centuries now.

Moreover, Smith has scored nine centuries in 42 innings and averages over 60 in the Ashes. Five of the nine hundreds have come in the last seven Ashes Tests. The former Australia captain, ignoring the repeated boos of the crowd, said he had contemplated the end of his career after the infamous scandal in South Africa.

“There were times throughout the last 15 months where I didn’t know if I was ever going to play cricket again,” Steven Smith said after his marvellous knock.

England 14-man squad:

Joe Root (c), Moeen Ali, James Anderson, Jofra Archer, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Joe Denly, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes (vc), Olly Stone, Chris Woakes.

Australia’s squad:

Tim Paine (c), Cameron Bancroft, Pat Cummins, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Michael Neser, James Pattinson, Peter Siddle, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Broad backs Warner to ‘come back strong’ from Ashes’ nightmare

England’s Jenny Gunn retires from international cricket

Haven’t seen a more talented bowler like Archer: Stokes

Warne, Vaughan react to England equalling the Ashes series

Cummins breaks 42-year-old Ashes record