Smith voted Australia’s best Test player, Warner best in ODIs

Steve Smith has been voted as the Test Player of the Year in Australia. The honour came during Monday’s Allan Border Medal presentation in Melbourne. It was due recognition for the Aussie skipper’s amazing form stretching from Australia’s tour of India last year to the 4-0 rout of England in the Ashes last month.

During this phase, Smith was the most productive batsman in Test cricket with 1,305 runs at an average of 81.56. He scored six centuries from 19 innings. Three of these hundreds were unbeaten knocks.

Under the voting system that aggregates polling from fellow team members as well as umpires and media representatives, 28-year-old Smith polled 246 votes. David Warner (162) and off-spinner Nathan Lyon (156 votes) followed in that order.

Also Read - Sujon denies to blame Dhaka wicket

Warner, of course, was crowned as the ODI Player of the Year, having averaged 57 during the 12-month voting period. Warner currently has been out of form in the Twenty20 tri-series featuring England and New Zealand. The left-hander garnered 24 votes to win the award by a margin of six from Steve Smith and all-rounder Marcus Stoinis.

Award winners:

 Allan Border Medal – Steve Smith

• Belinda Clark Award – Ellyse Perry

• Test Player of the Year – Steve Smith

• ODI Player of the Year – David Warner

• T20I Player of the Year – Aaron Finch

 Men’s Domestic Player of the Year – George Bailey

• Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year – Jhye Richardson

• Women’s Domestic Player of the Year – Beth Mooney

• Betty Wilson Young Cricketer of the Year – Georgia Redmayne

• Australian Cricket Hall of Fame inductees – Karen Rolton, Norm O’Neill and Ricky Ponting

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Clarke appointed officer in Order of Australia, thought it was April fool’s joke

If there is no World Cup, there should be no IPL: Allan Border

Cricket magic will be missing without crowds, says Virat Kohli

Khawaja disappointed after being snubbed off Australia’s central contract

Warner deserving winner of Australia’s top prize: Allan Border