South Africa announce squad for India tour

Cricket South Africa announced the squad for India tour and shockingly, Faf du Plessis has been left out of the team’s T20 squad.

South Africa announces squad for India tour
South Africa announces squad for India tour

The 35-year-old stylish cricketer has been replaced by Quinton de Kock as the skipper of the Proteas 20-over side. He will skipper the Test side for the three-match series against Virat Kohli & Co after the T20 series.

Temba Bavuma, Bjorn Fortuin and Anrich Nortje are the three new faces to the squad selected for the three-match T20I series, while the latter also joins wicketkeeper Rudi Second and Senuran Muthusamy as the new players in the Test squad.

Also Read - Kirsten to coach Cardiff in 'The Hundred'

The first T20I match between the sides is scheduled to take place on Sunday, September 15, with the final match of the T20I series scheduled to take place a week later.

The Test matches begin on Wednesday, October 2 and the tour comes to a close on October 23.

South Africa T20I squad for the tour of India

Quinton de Kock (capt), Rassie van der Dussen, Temba Bavuma, Junior Dala, Bjorn Fortuin, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, David Miller, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Jon-Jon Smuts.

South Africa Test squad for the tour of India

Faf du Plessis (capt), Temba Bavuma, Theunis de Bruyn, Quinton de Kock, Dean Elgar, Zubayr Hamza, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Senuran Muthusamy, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Vernon Philander, Dane Piedt, Kagiso Rabada, Rudi Second.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Video: Faf du Plessis’ hilarious reply behind Viljoen’s absence in MSL 2019

De Kock expects Du Plessis to lead South African T20I side

Fans criticize Du Plessis for his adverse comments on Team India

Faf du Plessis calls for change in toss system in Test cricket

It was copy and paste in every test match!