South Africa completed their domination over Sri Lanka with a 3-0 win

After the 5-0 win in ODI series, South Africa completed another whitewash in T20 series with a big Duckworth–Lewis–Stern method (DLS) win. Sri Lanka lost by 45 runs in the last T20 as well as in the last match of the tour at Johannesburg.

South Africa's Dwaine Pretorius plays a shot during the third Twenty20 international (T20I) cricket match between South Africa and Sri LankaChasing the huge target of 199, rain interrupted Sri Lankan innings badly. Then, the new target set by DLS 183 runs from 17 overs. But Sri Lankans were all out at just 137 runs from 15.4 overs and lost the match by 45 runs.

Niroshan Dickwella was the top scorer with 38 runs fom 22 balls. Isuru Udana, who had been in top form in the series scored the 2nd highest run for Sri Lanka with 36 runs from 23 balls.Besides this, no one scores much runs.

Also Read - Sunrisers Hyderabad celebrate Shakib's birthday, gets surprise birthday wish

Having assumed an imperative job in both Sri Lanka’s top order and lower order breakdown, Adile Phehlukwayo guaranteed the game’s best figures of 4 for 24, with individual quick bowlers Junior Dala and Lutho Sipamla additionally taking two wickets each.

Winning the toss, Sri Lanka didn’t able to make necessary breakthroughs through South Africa’s innings – Reeza Hendricks and Dwaine Pretorius consolidated to put on 90 for the second wicket. The hosts at that point delivered a solid completion, JP Duminy clobbering 34 off 14 balls, as South Africa flooded to 198 for 2 from their 20 overs.

Dwaine Pretorius was the highest scorer of the match with an unbeaten 77 runs from 42 ball with 7 fours and 3 sixes. Reeza Hendricks scored 66 runs from 52 balls with the help of 8 fours and 2 sixes. And at the last, Jean Paul Duminy played a little cameo of 34 runs from 14 balls.

Dwaine Pretorius was adjusted man of the match while Reeza Hendricks was named man of the series.


Brief Score:

South Africa 198-2

Dwaine Pretorius 77*(42), Reeza Hendricks 66(52)

Suranga Lakmal 1/38


Sri Lanka 137 (15.4 overs)

Niroshan Dickwella 38(22), Isuru Udana 36(23)

Adile Phehlukwayo 4/24, Junior Dala 2/29


Toss: Sri Lanka

Result: South Africa won by 45 runs (D/L method)

Related Articles

Watch: Ashton Agar bags a hat-trick against South Africa

Video: Quinton de Kock does a MS Dhoni to run-out Phehlukwayo in MSL 2019

Plessis and Phehlukwayo shine in Proteas warm-up win against Lankans

South Africa leads the T20 series in a super over encounter

Sarfraz deletes viral video tweet after getting trolled online