Stokes called back even after new batsman stepped on the field
England all-rounder Ben Stokes was part of a bizarre incident which occurred during the first day of the final Test between Windies and England.
The all-rounder was part of something which never happened before. Stokes was called back to bat again after being declared out as the replayed showed Windies bowler Alzarri Joseph had overstepped.
But after it was given out, Stokes already headed to the changing room. The umpires watched the replay very late and noticed it was a no-ball. Even the new batsman Jonny Bairstow was already on the field.
According to the previous rule, it would have been never allowed to call back Stokes. However, the new rule, which came into effect in October 2017 as the “Misapprehension Rule” turned the fortunes for Stokes.
The new rule says the batsman can return to the crease as long as the next delivery is not bowled. After getting the second life, Stokes remained unbeaten for 62 and England finished the day with 231 runs with the loss of four wickets.
Meanwhile, Stokes was not happy with the incident and feels batsman should be called back after 2 minutes in International cricket.
“I’ve never been in the changing room and called out to bat again, that is a first for me and it’s probably something that they need to get control of. I don’t think in international cricket you should be walking off and being in the changing rooms and then being back out there two minutes later. Thank God for technology.”
Stokes also said that he had to get himself back into the frame of mind after being called back.
“I just sat in my chair with my pads on and then I thought someone had got out because of all the shouting, but then the shout was ‘no-ball and you’re in’ so just bizarre. I just had to get myself back into the right frame of mind out there. Had to try and let it go and make sure I was not out at the end of the day,” he concluded.