No Indian in ICC's most valuable Team of the World Cup

After 45 thrilling encounters, many players left their mark in the World Cup but only XI along with One reserve could form the most valuable team of the tournament was announced by ICC.

vision mobile

Maksud Haque

Posted -

Updated -

T20 World Cup 2021 had it all. From excitement to drama, the biggest T20 extravaganza did not disappoint the fans. Australia emerged as the top side in the end as they defeated a formidable Kiwi side to clinch their maiden title in the shortest format of the game.
Australia clinch their maiden title
As the World Cup came to a close, the selection panel consisting of the likes of Ian Bishop, Natalie Germanos, Shane Watson and journalists Lawrence Booth and journalists Shahid Hashmi had a task in their hands. Their job was not finished as they donned the selector’s hat and picked the most valuable team of the tournament.
After 45 thrilling encounters, many players left their mark in the World Cup but only XI along with One reserve could form the most valuable team of the tournament and today, the International Cricket Council (ICC) released that very list of players.
Jos Buttler and David Warner were selected as the openers. Considering the right-left combination and the explosiveness, both the batsmen were rightly chosen as the openers. Babar Azam opened for Pakistan in the World Cup but was selected as a no.3 in this XI.
Babar Azam was named captain of the Team
Mohammad Rizwan was also a top-performer for Pakistan but his name was nowhere to be seen in the list. Ian Bishop explained the ideology on Rizwan’s omission.
He says, “The top three in the order were so outstanding that we could not leave any of them out. Notable absentees include Mohammed Rizwan who was simply outstanding and courageous in his performance. However, we could not fit him into the team too far outside of the opening position where he is most suited and successful, nor ahead of those selected,”
Charith Asalanka, Aiden Markram and Moeen Ali form a strong middle-order. While Asalanka provides the stability, Markram and Moeen can tee off and roll over their arms as well.
“The panel also saw the impressive young talent of Charith Asalanka and Aiden Markram as a real bonus for the team and their countries in this tournament. Moeen Ali was selected as that utility all-rounder who could be applied with the bat to various match situations and innings requirements. He also offered a more than substantial bowling option,” – Bishop was quoted as saying.
Wanindu Hasaranga was selected as the no.7 and can play a good role both as a batsman and a bowler. Adam Zampa found his spot in the list as a spinner. Josh Hazlewood, Trent Boult, and Anrich Nortje are the three pacers in ICC’s best XI of the tournament.
Shaheen Shah Afridi ended the World Cup on a not-so-good note but had many impactful performances in the World Cup which played a vital role in Pakistan making it to the semis. He was selected as the 12th man.
The team of the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2021 (in batting order) is:

David Warner (Australia) - 289 runs at 48.16
Jos Buttler (wk) (England) - 269 runs at 89.66, five dismissals
Babar Azam (Captain, Pakistan) - 303 runs at 60.60
Charith Asalanka (Sri Lanka) - 231 runs at 46.20
Markram (South Africa) - 162 runs at 54.00
Moeen Ali (England) - 92 runs at strike rate of 131.42, seven wickets at 11
Wanindu Hasaranga (Sri Lanka) - 16 wickets at 9.75
Adam Zampa (Australia) - 13 wickets at 12.07
Josh Hazlewood (Australia) - 11 wickets at 15.90
Trent Boult (New Zealand) - 13 wickets at 13.30
Anrich Nortje (South Africa) - nine wickets at 11.55
Pakistan pacer Shaheen Afridi - seven wickets at 24.14-- was named as the 12th player.