Trinbago Knight Riders start CPL 2018 with 100 runs win

Trinbago Knight Riders delivered an all-inclusive statement beginning the Caribbean Premier League 2018 with a thumping 100 run win against St. Lucia Stars at the Queen’s Park Oval in Port of Spain.

Trinbago Knight Riders start CPL 2018 with 100 run win

Dwayne Bravo and Fawad Alam claimed three wickets each including rest of the four bowlers brought in the mark by Bravo taking a single wicket apiece helped Knight Riders to restrict Stars below hundred.

Also Read - Indian Players who featured in no.1 position in ICC Test Rankings

Featuring three more deliveries than 17 overs, St. Lucia Stars lost all their wickets scoring 95, hundred less than the winning target.

Only Andre Fletcher, Kieron Pollard and Qais Ahmed’s scores manifested the double figure mark.

Put into bat first, Trinbago Knight Riders’ opening pair got detached in the initial over of the match but Monroe stored the best of him, fired a 48 ball 68 striking as many as 9 fours and a single six plundering four of fours and the six in a single over by Qais Ahmed.

Denesh Ramdin launched a buzzing fifty as well. On the way to his 27 ball 50, Ramdin made 2 scores of four and double that of sixes.

For Stars, Mitchell McClenaghan, Kesrick Williams and Kieron Pollard claimed 2 wickets each.

St. Lucia Stars, in reply, began with a positive first wicket partnership of 35 between Andre Fletcher and David Warner. The fallen Aussie star failed to run the good work, outsmart by Searless scoring a run a ball 9 with one four.

Fawad Alam initiated the downfall for Stars enjoined by skipper DJ Bravo in the subsequent over disabling the opposition to make any further comeback into the match.

Brief Score:
Trinbago Knight Riders 195/6 (20 overs)
Collin Monroe 68, Denesh Ramdin 50, Sunil Narine 17
Mitchell McClenaghan 2/30, Kesrick Williams 2/28, Kieron Pollard 2/22

St. Lucia Stars 95 all out (17.3 overs)
Andre Fletcher 19, Kieron Pollard 12, Qais Ahmed 14
Dwayne Bravo 3/11, Fawad Ahmed 3/16, Ali Khan 1/10

Result: Trinbago Knight Riders won by 100 runs.
Toss: St. Lucia Stars.
Man of the match: Colin Monroe 


Related Articles

Bravos edge Trinbago to chin-up win

Pollard century ends Stars streak

Jamaica maintain dominance over Patriots

Jamaica thrash as St Lucia woes continue

Reifer, Hope orchestrate Barbados’ first win of CPL 2018