Twitter erupts as Team India retain Border Gavaskar Trophy

When Team India scripted a memorable 2-1 Test series win in Australia after 71 years, naysayers told that there was no David Warner and Steve Smith as they were serving a 1-year ban due to ball-tampering saga.

Twitter erupts as Team India retain Border Gavaskar Trophy

But this time around, when Warner and Smith returned to the team, Team India unleashed their masterclass in all aspects of the game. Interestingly, India retained the Border Gavaskar Trophy without many experienced players.

Also Read - India pull off Gabba win, one for the ages

Australia won the Adelaide Test while India bounced back in Melbourne to level the series. The third Test match ended in a sensational draw in Sydney. The fourth and final Test match at The Gabba was the series decider.

It was Australia’s fortress as they never lost a Test match for 32 years. But, India had other ideas to outsmart the Aussies. The visitors scripted history by sealing a memorable victory at The Gabba and also won the series by 2-1. India came and played without fear and reaped rewards in the series.

Rishabh Pant was named the man of the match for his spectacular 89* in Team India’s successful run-chase of 328. Shubman Gill deserves credit for scoring an impressive 91 at the top. Even senior cricketer Pujara played quite well as he showed resilience in the second innings.

Pujara scored a vital 56 to keep India’s hopes alive. Pant and Thakur aced the run-chase as India won by 3 wickets. Pat Cummins was named the man of the series for his bowling masterclass.

Here’s how Twitterverse reacted to India’s historic series victory:

Related Articles

Lyon urges not to cry about spinning tracks

New Zealand-Australia Auckland fixture shifted

Road to Lord’s 2021: As it stands now

Kiwis beat Aussies in a match of raining sixes

Starc’s father passed away after battling cancer