Twitter reacts after umpire’s comical error which led to controversy
The third and the final T20I between Bangladesh and Windies turned out to be a one-sided encounter, but the match will be remembered for a long time due to the on-field umpire Tanvir Ahmed’s comical error which led to a massive error at the Mirpur Shere-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.
It all began when Oshane Thomas was bowling the 3rd over of the innings and Liton Das was caught after he went ariel. But the umpire called a no-ball and a free hit. But the replay showed that it was clearly a legal bowl.
After seeing the replay in the screen, Windies skipper Carlos Braithwaite lost his temper and rushed to the umpire to complain and also asked to review the decision. And it went from bad to worse since then. The match was paused for almost 10 minutes and the match referee also came in to join the discussion with the Windies players.
The Windies skipper, manager, coach, match referee were having an animated discussion. Bangladesh skipper Shakib Al Hasan was also ready to come out to bat. But in the end, the umpire and the match referee decided to stay with the on-field decision as Braithwaite took the review after 15 seconds.
Here’s how Twitter reacted after the controversy –
West Indies captain Carlos Brathwaite has every right to feel aggrieved, the umpiring during the third T20I has been poor 👎
— ESPNcricinfo (@ESPNcricinfo) December 22, 2018
— Cricbuzz (@cricbuzz) December 22, 2018
— Harsh Sidhu (@Gurindersidhu6) December 22, 2018
One can expect few blunders from the on-field umpires but not from the 3rd umpire. This has been the case for quite a while now. Clearly, even the use of technology is not helping. #NoballReview #BANvWI
— Rohan Patel (@RohaanKPatel) December 22, 2018
So the umpire has the supreme power of giving any decision and can’t be overturned even with replays…what if the umpire signals all 6 legal deliveries as no ball.. can that be reviewed and over turned by the bowling team?? #BANvWI @SriniMaama16 @SirJadeja @vigneshravicha9
— Jaiganesh (@jaidakshin) December 22, 2018
What stopped the umpires (on field, third & fourth) on owning up the mistake and calling for at least a re ball?!
When Shakib signalled the free hit even as fuming Braithwaite walked in, I felt life was very cruel!!
— Rathnavel Ponnuswami (@reavan) December 22, 2018
WTF Umpiring….. This was called a No-Ball by Bangladeshi Umpire.🤔
— Hasnain Shah (@Shahhasnain69) December 22, 2018
— Ajay Krishna L (@AjKrish17) December 22, 2018
Thomas has Das caught by Rutherford 👏
Umpire gives it a no-ball 😱
Brathwaite reviews and it is not a no-ball 😕
The umpires ask Das to leave 😵
— خاندانی ڈاکٹر (@khanadanidoctor) December 22, 2018
Sowmya Sarkar should have let go with free hit instead of hitting it for 6. Bangladesh knew the no ball and free hit was due to umpiring error. Not a good sportsmanship by them. #BANvWI @ICC @BCBtigers
— Shail Bhagat (@shail_bhagat) December 22, 2018
— Sabbir Jubaer (@sabbir_jubaer) December 22, 2018
— Vijay Rahaman (@TriniSportsGuy) December 22, 2018
— Hafiz (@Hafiz284) December 22, 2018