Uncapped Conway in NZ squad for Bangladesh ODIs

New Zealand Cricket has named Tom Latham as skipper in three ODIs against Bangladesh this month.

Devon Conway, Will Young and Daryl Mitchell are three uncapped players in the 13-man ODI squad.

Also Read - Video: Gunathilaka's controversial dismissal for obstructing the field

South Africa-born Conway has shined in T20Is in New Zealand colours. He finished as the highest run-scorer in recently concluded five-match series against Australia, which the Blackcaps won by 3-2.

New Zealand men will be played their first ODI in 12 months. They played Australia in Sydney last year before the COVID pandemic. This means the series against Bangladesh starting from March 20 will be their first appearance in the new Cricket World Cup Super League.

“It’s certainly been a while since we’ve played ODI cricket, with just four games since the 2019 Cricket World Cup campaign,” NZC selector Gavin Larsen said.

“We’re now in a new World Cup cycle and our attention has turned to building towards the 2023 tournament in India.

“This series is a great opportunity to begin laying those foundations and formulating the type of team and game-plan we think can continue our impressive run in this format.”

New Zealand squad: Tom Latham (captain), Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Will Young.

Bangladesh squad: Tamim Iqbal (ODI captain), Mahmudullah Riyad (T20I captain), Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun, Liton Das, Afif Hossain Dhrubo, Soumya Sarkar, Naim Sheikh, Taskin Ahmed, Al Amin Hossain, Shoriful Islam, Hasan Mahmud, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mustafizur Rahman, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Rubel Hossain, Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed.

New Zealand vs Bangladesh 2021 fixtures: 

Mar 20: 1st ODI, University of Otago Oval, Dunedin
Mar 23: 2nd ODI, Hagley Oval, Christchurch
Mar 26: 3rd ODI, Basin Reserve, Wellington

Mar 28: 1st T20I, Seddon Park, Hamilton
Mar 30: 2nd T20I, McLean Park, Napier
Apr 1: 3rd T20I, Eden Park, Auckland

Related Articles

All-rounder Phillips helps New Zealand seal T20I series win

Twitter reacts as confusion raises over DLS calculations in NZ vs BAN T20

Tamim blames ‘batting and fielding’ for woeful performance

New Zealand whitewash Bangladesh

Hopefully we can get the same in Christchurch: Latham