Warner, Perry win Australian cricket’s top honour

David Warner completed a stunning return to international cricket as he claimed his third Allan Border medal, finishing a single vote ahead of another returning star, Steve Smith.Warner, Perry win Australian cricket's top honour

The other highest individual honour of Australian cricket went to the star all-rounder Ellyse Perry. This was also her third Belinda Clark award with 161 votes.

Both Warner and Perry won their first such award in 2016, with Warner picking it up for a second time in 2017 and Perry in 2018.

Also Read - Five players charged by ICC after Under-19 World Cup final brawl

Warner’s triumph for the third time may come as a surprise to many, as he had a woeful run of form during the 2019 Ashes series. Still his strong work across the Australian summer and in the T20I format has helped him secure the coveted award.

Warner was in fantastic form during the ICC World Cup 2019, where he ended up being the second highest run-score of the tournament with 647 runs. India’s Rohit Sharma had just one run more than him. He also smacked the highest individual innings of the tournament – a mammoth 147-ball 166 against Bangladesh during the group stage.

Warner did not stop just there. He then went on to strike the second-highest ever Test score by an Australian, scoring 335* off 418 balls against Pakistan in Adelaide.

In 2009, Ricky Ponting and Michael Clarke shared the Allan Border award. Since then, this is the closest Allan Border award, as just a single vote made Warner ahead of Smith.

Warner also picked up the Twenty20 international honour.

On the other hand, Perry too had a wonderful year. She hit a brilliant 116 in the Test against England, then grabbed 7-22 – the best one-day bowling figures by an Australian woman in the Canterbury ODI. In all she finished the series with 378 runs and 15 wickets, topping both charts across both teams.

The Test player of the year award went to Marnus Labuschange, who has been showing stunning consistency since the Ashes Lord’s match. Limited-overs captain Aaron Finch finished ahead of axed batsman Usman Khawaja for the ODI player of the year. Alyssa Healy won both Female ODI and T20 player of the year.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

First women’s cricket shoe come to life

Smith reveals two big career goals before he retires

Warner likely to retire from international cricket for chaotic fixtures

Mathews picks the best batsman among ‘fav four’

‘No saliva on Cricket ball’, suggest lee, Tendulkar