Comilla crowned two-time champions

Comilla Victorians have bagged their second Bangladesh Premier League title as they beat Dhaka Dyanmites by 17 runs in the Final of 2019 edition at Shere Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Mirpur.

Comilla were sent in to bat first at the toss by Dhaka. Comilla lost Evin Lewis early in the innings. Anamul Haque scored a steady 30-ball 24 in a 89-run partership with Tamim Iqbal. Meanwhile, Shamsur Rahman was run out on his first ball.

The fourth-wicket stand between Tamim and skipper Imrul Kayes produced 100 runs in 46 balls as Victorians romped to 199/3 in 20 overs to set Dhaka a target of 200 runs to win.

Also Read - WATCH- MS Dhoni plays a one-hand defensive shot to avoid getting stumped

Tamim swiveled Andre Russell for a four to reach his 50-ball century, his third in T20 cricket. No other Bangladesh has even two hundreds. His 61-ball 141* included 10 fours and 11 maximums. He surpassed his previous best score 130, which he set in 2013 Victory Day tournament.

Tamim pulls on his way to hundred.


In reply, Sunil Narine was run out for a diamond duck in the first over of Dhaka’s run-chase. Upul Tharanga and Rony Talukdar lead the fightback in 120-run second-wicket partnership. Talukdar played an eye-catching innings of 38-ball 66 runs including 6 fours and 4 sixes. Tharanga departed scoring 48 off 27.

Comilla pushed Dhaka on the backfoot as the Dynamites slumped to 143/7 from 102/1. Dhaka never recovered from the blow as Mohammad Saifuddin defended 21 runs in the last over to clinch the title.

Previously, Comilla won the 2015 title by beating Barisal Bulls in the final. Dhaka played their third straight BPL final and ended up being runners-up on consecutive occasions.

Brief scores:

Comilla Victorians 199/3 in 20 overs (Tamim 141*, Anamul 24; Shakib 1/45, Rubel 1/48)

Dhaka Dynamites 182/9 in 20 overs (Rony 66, Tharanga 48; Wahab 3/28, Perera 2/35)

Watch the winning moments here-

Comilla Victorians won by 17 runs


Related Articles

Kesrick Williams seeks help from Bangladesh after St Vincent volcanic eruption

No BPL T20 in 2021

Rajshahi disappointed with Ashraful’s performance

Sujon expects Shakib to return to his old rhythm soon

Gibbs enjoying coaching in Sri Lanka