Pollard century ends Stars streak

Kieron Pollard’s 53-ball ton has guided St Lucia Stars to a 38-run win over Barbadod Tridents in the 10th match of CPL 2018 at Darren Sammy National Cricket Stadium, Gros Islet. St Lucia have ended their 15-match winless streak.

Pollard century ends Stars streak
Pollard registered his maiden century. ©Getty Images


St Lucia posted the highest CPL total – 226/6 in 20 overs after being sent in to bat first. Only three men – Andre Fletcher, Rahkeem Cornwall and skipper Pollard scored runs with the bat. David Warner, Lendl Simmons and Darren Sammy registered ducks against their names.

Opener Fletcher gave a good start to the innings, taking 20 off Mohammad Irfan in the first over. Cornwall played a cameo 11-ball 30 after Warner’s dismissal. Fletcher was joined by Pollard for the fourth-wicket in which they added 148 runs.

Also Read - County doors to open for Tigers?

Fletcher hit 80 runs from 52 balls with 6 fours and 6 sixes. Pollard reached his first T20 century with a six off Raymon Reifer in the last ball. He was sent back immediately after the ton. He made 104 off 54 including 6 fours and 8 maximums.

84 runs were scored for three wickets in the last five overs. Wahab Riaz was the only stand out bowler with 3 for 35.

Barbados were restricted to 188/6 in 20 overs which gave St Lucia their first win of the tournament. Dwayne Smith was off to a good start, making 58 runs off 45 balls including 10 boundaries and a six.

Hashim Amla made 14 on his first outing of the tournament. Steve Smith hit 28 off 16 balls in his side’s 38-run defeat. Nicholas Pooran and Shai Hope reached 20s.

Obed McCoy grabbed 3 wickets for 28. Afghan leg-spinner Qais Ahmed took 2 for 29.

Watch yielding 20 runs in first over of the innings

Brief scores:

St Lucia Stars 226/6 in 20 overs (Pollard 104, Fletcher 80, Cornwall 30; Wahab 3/35)

Barbados Tridents 188/6 in 20 overs (D Smith 58, S Smith 28; McCoy 3/28, Qais 2/29)

St Lucia Stars won by 38 runs

Man of the Match: Kieron Pollard

Related Articles

TKR scroll to seventh win in the season

Mahmudullah ends CPL mission with victory

Live: St Kitts vs Jamaica, Match 26, CPL T20 2018

Guyana secure easy win over Barbados

Trinbago ascend top of point table, powered by McCullum