Why DC players are wearing black armbands against MI?

Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals were by far the two best teams in the ongoing edition of the Indian Premier League. Mumbai Indians finished the league stage with most wins and points and they deservedly took the first spot in the points table.

Why DC players are wearing black armbands against MI?
Delhi Capitals players

On the other hand, Delhi Capitals finished second in the points table. The defending champions won nine games while the Delhi Capitals had some tough time in qualifying the playoffs. They had to beat Royal Challengers Bangalore in their final league match to make it to the playoffs.

The two teams are playing against each other in the qualifier 1 today at Dubai International Stadium in Dubai. Talking about the match, Delhi Capitals captain, Shreyas Iyer won the toss and elected to field first. When Delhi Capitals’ players stepped out at the field, fans spotted something different from Delhi outfit as they saw the players sporting the black armbands on the field.

Also Read - Trailblazers hand Velocity thrashing defeat

However, the commentator was quick to solve all the confusions. The commentator clarified the doubt by informing that the fast bowler Mohit Sharma’s father identified as Mahipal Sharma passed away. In a bid to pay a rich tribute to him, the Delhi Capitals wore the black armbands on the cricket field.

Mumbai Indians Squad

Playing XI

Rohit Sharma (c), Quinton de Kock (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Rahul Chahar, Trent Boult, Jasprit Bumrah


Aditya Tare, Mitchell McClenaghan, Chris Lynn, Jayant Yadav, Anmolpreet Singh, Anukul Roy, Mohsin Khan, Sherfane Rutherford, Digvijay Deshmukh, Prince Balwant Rai, Saurabh Tiwary, Dhawal Kulkarni, James Pattinson

Delhi Capitals Squad

Playing XI

Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer (c), Rishabh Pant (wk), Marcus Stoinis, Daniel Sams, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje


Harshal Patel, Shimron Hetmyer, Mohit Sharma, Alex Carey, Avesh Khan, Praveen Dubey, Sandeep Lamichhane, Keemo Paul, Tushar Deshpande, Lalit Yadav

Related Articles

‘Pant dropped more catches than any other keeper in the world’

Watch: Virat Kohli launches a mind-boggling six

Rabada ruled out of England ODIs

Ishant bowls ‘long spells’ at NCA, expected to be fit before Australia Tests

Rajasthan Royals savagely trolls Delhi Capitals on Twitter