Four new team names of BPL 2019 announced

Four new names of Bangabandhu Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) 2019 have been announced. This year’s BPL has been named ‘Bangabandhu BPL’ on the occasion of the birth anniversary of the father of Bengali nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman. This time there has been no franchise, so the names of the previous teams have changed.

Four new team names of BPL 2019 announced

There has also been a change in the name of the teams participating in the new affiliate tournament. Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has found sponsorship for five out of seven teams. They gave the parties new names. BCB has taken charge of the two teams- Comilla and Rangpur. The rest of the teams are: Dhaka Nawab, Chittagong Challengers, Rajshahi Runner and Sylhet Thunders.

Also Read - Eden D/N Test timing rescheduled

The sponsor Jamuna Bank is associated with the Dhaka team and named it ‘Dhaka Nawab’. Chittagong is sponsored by Akhtar Furnishers. This time in the Bangabandhu BPL Chittagong team is named ‘Chittagong Challengers’. Givani Footwear Company in charge of Sylhet team; Sylhet’s new name is ‘Sylhet Thunders’. A company called IPC has been associated with Rajshahi. They have given the team new name ‘Rajshahi Runner’. Mind Tree has taken the responsibility of sponsoring the Khulna team but till now the organization has not named the team.

On this issue, Jalal Yunus, a member of the BPL Governing Council and chairman of the technical committee, said,

“The sponsoring organizations have named the teams to their liking. Apart from this, the BCB is taking charge of both Rangpur and Comilla teams. These two groups have not yet been named. The name and logo will be finalized and conveyed to them very soon.”

The countdown to commemorate the birth anniversary of the father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman will begin from December 8. On that day, Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will inaugurate the tournament. The tournament will be held on December 11 this year.

Related Articles

There’s discrimination between small and big teams, admits Durjoy

Umpires will be punished if necessary: BCB

Mohammedan appeal against Shakib’s three-match ban

BCB to investigate DPL biased umpiring

We don’t expect this from a player of Shakib’s quality: BCB director