New Zealand pull off dominating win to complete historic 2-0 whitewash

Christchurch Test between New Zealand and India has ended in just two and a half days. And India have registered a shameful victory. On the third day of the second and final Test, New Zealand give a bitter taste of the whitewash to India after a big 7-wicket victory.

New Zealand pull off dominating win to complete historic 2-0 whitewash

As a result, after about 8 years, India had been whitewashed in Tests. India lost all four of the four-match Test series on Australian soil in 2011-12 season.

Also Read - Tigresses end disappointing World Cup campaign

However, the visit to New Zealand was very pleasant for India at the start of the tour. India whitewashed host Kiwis in the five-match T20I series. However, the ODI series started with failure. New Zealand whitewashed India in a three-match ODI series and ended the Test series with another whitewash.

India lost 6 wickets for 90 runs in their second innings at the end of the second day and could survive only 10 overs on the third day. The team was all out for 124 with 34 runs added. No batsman was able to score 25+ runs for the team.

Among the dreaded Kiwi bowlers, Trent Boult took a maximum of 4 wickets. Tim Southee got three wickets. Colin de Grandhomme and Neil Wagner also took one wicket each.

New Zealand almost ensured victory in the opening pair when they were batted for a 132-run target. Two openers Tom Latham and Tom Blundell scored 103 runs in the opening. However, both of them returned after scoring half-century.

Latham was dismissed by Umesh Yadav after scoring 52 runs off 74 balls. Jasprit Bumrah bowled Tom Blundell. Blundell scored 55 runs. Kane Williamson returned scoring just 5 runs, but Ross Taylor and Henry Nicholls were unbeaten at 5 runs each and grabbed the victory for the team.

Earlier, India were bowled out for 242 runs in their first innings. In reply, the Kiwis could not bat long. The Indian bowlers were bowled them out for 235 runs. But team India had to see the shame of failure again in the second innings.

Kyle Jamieson was selected Man of the Match for his all-round performance in the first innings. Tim Southee was rewarded with a Man of the Series award.

Related Articles

Australia level series, set for decider vs NZ

Buys from IPL 2021 auction at a glance

Jamieson could be the next Russell: Gambhir

5 players RCB can sign as Steyn’s replacement in IPL 2021 auction

Watch: Jamieson bowls a terrific in-swinger to send Rizwan packing