Ponting, Warne, Gilchrist to come out of retirement

Australia’s World Cup winning captain Ricky Ponting, the legend spinner Shane Warne and wicketkeeper Adam Gilchrist are all set to come out of retirement to take part in a star-studded match early next month.

Ponting, Warne and Gilchrist
Australian legends are coming out of retirement for a great cause.

The game will be for charity purpose, with a view to raising money for victims of Australia’s devastating bushfires.

Cricket Australia (CA) confirmed the news on Sunday (January 12). As per their announcement, the match will be called the Bushfire Cricket Bash, and it will take place on February 8. Ponting and Warne have been selected as the captains of the two sides.

Also Read - Pandya not focusing on comparisons to Kapil, Stokes

Apart from the aforementioned trio, more retired stars in the form of Brett Lee, Justing Langer, Michael Clarke, Alex Blackwell and Shane Watson will be parts of the initiative. Australia’s former Test and ODI captain Steve Waugh and former women’s star Mel Jones will be involved as well, but in a non-playing capacity.

The 10 confirmed former players to be involved in the Bushfire Cricket Bash played more than 3000 international games for Australia between them. More star names are expected to be added in the coming weeks.

Apart from being a part of this initiative, Warne has already made a significant contribution for the victims when his treasurer Baggy Green cap raised more than $1 million in an auction last week.

The Bushfire Cricket Bash will create a blockbuster Sunday triple-header, as February 8 is the date to also hold the final of the Big Bash League, as well as a women’s international T20 fixture between India and Australia.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

No Kohli, No Dhoni in Chawla’s all time best Test XI

Sarfaraz picks better glove-man between Gilchrist and Dhoni

Finch picks his combined India-Australia ODI XI; Rohit misses out

No Dhoni in Duminy’s nine overseas players’ all-time IPL XI

Sachin, Kohli, Akram named in Lord’s non-honour’s board XI