Ten Sri Lankan players opt out of Pakistan tour

Sri Lanka is set to tour Pakistan to play three ODIs and three T20Is in Pakistan.

Sri Lanka announce squad for Bangladesh ODIs, Dananjaya returns
Big days are ahead for Pakistan in less than three weeks as Sri Lanka are to play three ODIs at their den. However, they have suffered a huge setback as ten Sri Lankan players including the T20I captain Lasith Malinga, Angelo Mathews and Dinesh Chandimal.

The ten players, who have opted out of the Pakistan tour so far are:

Also Read - Bangladesh— The first Test team to lose to 10 oppositions

Lasith Malinga, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Suranga Lakmal, Dimuth Karunaratne, Thisara Perera, Akila Dhananjaya, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kusal Perera and Niroshan Dickwella.

SLC said in their statement on Monday:

“Former Sri Lanka Air Force Commander Marshal Air Roshan Goonetileke, who is the Chief Security Advisor of the SLC, briefed the players about the security situation in Pakistan and the security arrangements PCB plans on implementing during Sri Lanka team’s tour of that country.”

Sri Lanka are scheduled to play three ODIs in Karachi on September 27, 29 and October 3, followed by as many T20Is in Lahore on October 5, 7 and 9.

According to SLC, the players were given  a free hand in deciding whether they wanted to travel with the side or not, following which the squads for both the limited-overs series would be picked. The board is yet to announce the two squads.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Zimbabwe-Afghanistan T-20 series called off

Shan Masood ends Pakistan’s 24 years waiting

Smith reveals two big career goals before he retires

Twitter reacts to Archer’s rip-snorting delivery taking Abid’s stumps for a walk

WATCH: Pant tries Dhoni’s trademark helicopter shot