Bumrah, Dhawan back in T20, ODI squads; Rohit rested for T20s

Fit-again pacer Jasprit Bumrah and opener Shikhar Dhawan returned to India’s T20 and ODI squads for next month’s home assignments against Sri Lanka and Australia.


Also Read - South Africa all-rounder Vernon Philander announces retirement

Meanwhile Rohit Sharma was rested from the shortest format of the game. BCCI chairman of selectors MSK Prasad announced the squad on Monday after a meeting of the five-member panel.

About the absence of Rohit Sharma, a top BCCI source as quoted by The Times of India, “The selectors normally don’t give rest to anyone in the T20 team, but Rohit has been on the road for quite a while now. He has informed the Board that he wants to take rest for this series.”

KL Rahul is likely to open the innings alongside Shikhar Dhawan. India’s limited over vice captain Sharma accumulated 2442 runs this year. He has reportedly decided to take a break.

Along with Rohit, pacer Mohammed Shami has also been rested for the T20I series.

Shikhar Dhawan

The BCCI source has also said, “Jasprit has been pronounced fit by the experts who treated him, and the selectors want to pick him for the Lanka series, but the problem is that the NCA hasn’t cleared him. The selectors will have to wait for the BCCI to give them a clear picture on Jasprit before picking him.”

The first Twenty20 match against Sri Lanka is scheduled to be played at Guwahati on January 5, followed by the second ODI in Indore on January 7. While the third and last will take place in Pune on January 10.

India squad for Sri Lanka T20Is: Virat Kohli (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Shivam Dube, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur, Manish Pandey, Washington Sundar, Sanju Samson.

India squad for Australia ODIs: Virat Kohli (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wk), Kedar Jadhav, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah.


Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Warner responds to TikTok ban in India

Akash Chopra trolls himself in Twitter, in a dismissal video of Brett Lee

Ashwin takes a dig on Warner after India bans TikTok

Warner settles best batsman debate between Kohli and Smith

Sarfaraz picks better glove-man between Gilchrist and Dhoni