Mohammedan now lose three on the trot

Mohammedan Sporting Club have now suffered three consecutive defeats after winning the same number of matches to kick off the Dhaka Premier League (DPL) T20.

Mohammedan now lose three on the trot

Mohammedan’s latest outing has seen them getting crushed by Legends of Rupganj, who sealed victory by 9 wickets. 

Also Read - 'We were all 'bloody Indians' to them': Farokh recalls his experience with racism in England

Electing to bat first, Mohammedan fell into all sorts of trouble having lost 6 wickets for 27 runs in 9.2 overs. Opening bowlers Sohag Gazi and Mohammad Shahid did the early damage while Shakib Al Hasan fell for a six-ball duck in the powerplay. Skipper Naeem Islam also struck twice with the ball in the collapse.

Shuvagata Hom resisted with 32-ball 51 runs, smashing 5 sixes and a four, to take the score to 113/9. He put on a 66-run stand for the seventh wicket with Abu Hider Rony, who made 15 off 25.

In reply, an 89-run opening stand between Mehedi Maruf and Pinak Ghosh meant Rupganj would get their second win comfortably. Maruf (41 off 46) was the only one to fall off Mahmudul Hasan’s bowling.

Ghosh remained till the end with run-a-ball 51 runs, as he saw Sabbir Rahman pull Shakib for a six to finish the game in style with 11 balls to go.

Mohammedan will be back on the field to take on Abahani Limited in a ‘Dhaka Derby’ encounter at Mirpur tomorrow.

Mohammedan Sporting Club 113/9 in 20 overs (Hom 51; Naeem 2/6, Gazi 2/8, Shahid 2/21)

Legends of Rupganj 117/1 in 18.1 overs (Ghosh 51*, Maruf 41; Mahmudul 1/11)

Legends of Rupganj won by 9 wickets

Player of the Match: Sohag Gazi

Related Articles

Another failure for Shakib in Mohammedan’s defeat

Naim’s middle-order cameo gives Abahani last-over triumph

Mizanur Rahman: Oldest Bangladeshi to make a T20 ton

Saif, Kamrul hand Abahani thumping defeat

Munim, Shanto, Rana star in rain-hit game