Mosaddek, Mushfiqur fifties outplay Gazi Group

Round five of Bangabandhu Dhaka Premier League (DPL) T20 concludes with three teams having four wins and one yet to get off the mark.

Mosaddek, Mushfiqur fifties outplay Gazi Group

Prime Doleshwar are topping the points table with 9 points, above Abahani and Prime Bank.

Also Read - Christian called in for West Indies, Bangladesh tours

Abahani Limited vs Gazi Group Cricketers, SBNCS, Mirpur

Fifties from Mosaddek Hossain and captain Mushfiqur Rahim have helped Abahani trump Gazi Group’s score of 150/8 with two overs remaining. Mosaddek struck a 28-ball 50*, with 4 fours and 3 sixes. Mushfiqur scooped Sanjit Saha to take his score to 53* off 35 and give Abahani a comprehensive seven-wicket win.

Soumya Sarkar (67 off 50) and Mahedi Hasan (43 off 32) put on 78 runs for the opening stand to give Gazi Group a commanding start being put into bat. While Soumya remained till the last over, the other batters came and went back and thus falling short of a big total. Leggie Aminul Islam Biplob took 2/19 for Abahani.

In reply, Abahani had a slow start as they lost 3 wickets for 48 in 8.2 overs. Mushfiqur and Mosaddek’s unbroken stand of 105 runs gave them a fourth win in five games.

Gazi Group Cricketers 150/8 in 20 overs (Soumya 67, Mahedi 43; Biplob 2/19, Shohidul 2/41)

Abahani Limited 153/3 in 18 overs (Mushfiqur 53*, Mosaddek 50*; Mahedi 1/12, Nasum 1/32)

Abahani Limted won by 7 wickets


Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club vs Prime Bank Cricket Club, BKSP-4, Savar

Spirited bowling performance from Prime Bank restricted Sheikh Jamal, who elected to bat, to 133/9. Rubel Hossain was once again impressive with his 2/28. Mustafizur Rahman also picked up two scalps. Sohrawordi Shuvo (34 off 30) was Sheikh Jamal’s top scorer.

Rony Talukdar starred in the run-chase, making 48 runs off 34 deliveries that included 4 fours and 2 sixes. Tamim Iqbal made 23 from 27 while out-of-form skipper Anamul Haque Bijoy scored 35 off 33.

Even though Prime Bank required 7 off 18 balls at one stage, the chase went down to the last over where they sealed their fourth win.

Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club 133/9 in 20 overs (Shuvo 34; Rubel 2/28, Mustafizur 2/31, Kapali 1/10)

Prime Bank Cricket Club 134/3 in 19.3 overs (Rony 48, Anamul 35; Sakil 2/12, Hayder 1/13)

Prime Bank Cricket Club won by 7 wickets


Brothers Union vs Partex Sporting Club, BKSP-3, Savar

The search for a win continues for Partex Sporting Club, who now have lost five in five. Their hopes of a win were there when Brothers Union were restricted to 57/6 in 11 overs. Then came Rahatul Ferdous (54 off 44) and Naeem Islam jnr (34 off 21) to dig Brothers out of hole and set 148 to win for Partex.

Partex had an early setback for losing 4 wickets for 19 runs. Dhiman Ghosh’s 37-ball 43 stretched their total to 114 all-out. Rahatul was at it again, this time with his left-arm spin, as he bagged career-best 4/34.

Brothers Union 147/8 in 20 overs (Rahatul 54, Naeem jnr 34; Tasamul 2/18, Shahadat 2/26)

Partex Sporting Club 114/10 in 19.5 overs (Dhiman 44; Rahatul 4/34, Saqlain 2/13, Hawlader 2/17)

Brothers Union won by 33 runs

Related Articles

Mushfiqur picks up injury, to miss rest of DPL matches

Abahani clinch last-over thriller

Naim’s middle-order cameo gives Abahani last-over triumph

Shakib’s ban over, spotted at BCB premises

Saif, Kamrul hand Abahani thumping defeat