Mohammedan crush Abahani in a match of controversies

In a dramatic Dhaka Derby clash in the Bangabandhu Dhaka Premier League (DPL) T20, Mohammedan have ended up on the winning side against Abahani at Mirpur.

Mohammedan crush Abahani in a match of controversies
Shakib got in a heated argument with the on-field umpires twice. Photo: BCB


Mohammedan Sporting Club vs Abahani Limited, SBNCS, Mirpur

Also Read - Shakib kicks, then throws stumps in Dhaka Derby

Mohammedan skipper Shakib Al Hasan’s altercations with on-field umpires and Abahani officials turned out to be talk of the town. Shakib kicked and later threw stumps in middle of the play.

The 34-year-old however starred with the bat for his side, scoring 37 runs in 27 balls with a four and 2 sixes. This is highest score in the tournament. Mahmudul Hasan compiled 30* off 22 to take Mohammedan’s score to 145/6 after choosing to bat first.

AKS Swadhin (3/24 in three overs) and Tanzim Hasan Sakib (2/17 in four overs) were top performers with the ball for the men in sky blue.

Shuvagata Hom ran riot in the second innings, taking three early wickets – including two in the very first over. Then Shakib lost his temper in the fifth and sixth overs. Umpires called the players off with score being 31/3 in 5.5 overs due to rain.

After resumption, Mushfiqur Rahim could not do much in a revised target of 76 runs in nine overs. The Abahani skipper to put bat on ball as he remained not out on run-a-ball 18 in his side’s 31-run (DLS) defeat.

Taskin Ahmed’s double-strike and Abu Jayed Rahi’s sole wicket restricted Abahani to 44/6, ensuring Mohammedan’s fourth win in seven matches.

Leading up to this match, Mohammedan were on the back foot with three consecutive defeats.

Brief scores:

Mohammedan Sporting Club 145/6 in 20 overs (Shakib 37, Mahmudul 30*; Swadhin 3/24, Tanzim 2/17)

Abahani Limited 44/6 in 9 overs (Mushfiqur 18*; Hom 3/17, Taskin 2/5, Rahi 1/7)

Mohammedan Sporting Club won by 31 runs (DLS)  

Player of the Match: Shuvagata Hom


In the other two matches at BKSP grounds, Gazi Group Cricketers and Khelaghar Samaj Kallyan Samity have notched up wins by DLS method.

Gazi Group Cricketers vs Brothers Union, BKSP-3, Savar

Gazi Group Cricketers 173/6 in 20 overs (Mahedi 47, Yasir 47, Ariful 35*, Babu 4/25)

Brothers Union 85/5 in 11.2 overs (Hawlader 26; Nasum 3/16)

Gazi Group Cricketers won by 15 runs (DLS)

Player of the Match: Mahedi Hasan


Partex Sporting Club vs Khelaghar Samaj Kallyan Samity, BKSP-4, Savar

Partex Sporting Club 106/8 in 20 overs (Rajibul 28; Ifran 3/23, Miraz 2/15, Tipu 2/18)

Khelaghar Samaj Kallyan Samity 50/2 in 7 overs (Imtiaz 27, Miraz 12*; Jaynul 1/10)

Khelaghar Samaj Kallyan Samity won by 15 runs (DLS)

Player of the Match: Mehidy Hasan Miraz

Related Articles

Naim’s middle-order cameo gives Abahani last-over triumph

Shakib’s ban over, spotted at BCB premises

Saif, Kamrul hand Abahani thumping defeat

Munim, Shanto, Rana star in rain-hit game

There’s discrimination between small and big teams, admits Durjoy